Haftor Medbøe is a Norwegian-born guitarist, composer and educator living in Edinburgh, Scotland. With his eponymous group, he has recorded five albums and performed live to critical and audience acclaim since its formation in 2006. Haftor has also recorded albums with Jacob Karlzon (piano), Espen Eriksen (piano) and Gunnar Halle (trumpet), Anneke Kampman (ex Conquering Animal Sound, ANAKANAK), Pete Furniss (clarinet) and Tom Bancroft (drums).

As a composer, Haftor has scored music for numerous film and television productions including Building a Nation (Wark Clemmens for C4) and the multi award-winning Tartan Short, Cry For Bobo (David Cairns). Other composition credits include the 2014 son et lumiere production, A Night at The Botanics, collaborative installation pieces with artists Alan Kilpatrick and Michele Marcoux, dance/video productions by choreographer/film-maker Katrina MacPherson and commissioned responses to a number of exhibitions for the National Galleries of Scotland.

Haftor is Associate Professor of Music and Jazz Musician in Residence at Edinburgh Napier University, where he gained his doctoral degree in 2013. He is also an internationally published  researcher in the field of jazz studies and has presented conference papers throughout Europe for, amongst others, the International Society of Musicologists, Rhythm Changes, KISMIF, HEA and the Nordic Research Network. Haftor is director of Edinburgh Napier University Jazz Summer School which, now in its 23rd year, is run in association with Edinburgh Jazz & Blues Festival.


Haftor Medbøe is a Yamaha artist